Better Half

Family, Life, and Politics from Wifey

Homeschool September 30, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — raitking @ 1:26 am

I decided to homeschool the kids this year. People always ask me why. Really it’s just 2 main reasons. Since I left teaching and am home with the two little ones it was very difficult for me to be active in the girls’ school. I missed being a part of their education. Also, I missed teaching. It’s my gift and I wasn’t able to use it anymore. So we’re on this journey together now- learning and working it out as we go. I’m not sure how long we’ll homeschool. I’m only committed to this school year. I figure I can’t mess them up too bad in one year. It’s a challenge, but it’s fun!

Here is a video of two of the girls reciting a poem and a quote they’ve learned. It took them both just 2 days to get it down. I’m so proud!!

 

12 Responses to “Homeschool”

  1. DisneyCyndi Says:

    YAH! The funny thing is I almost came to your blog today, then I thought with the week you all have had who has time to blog. I’m glad the homeschooling is coming along.

  2. Melissa Foiles Says:

    Oh wow!! Rai!! This is so awesome!! The girls are so smart! You should be so proud.. of them and of YOURSELF!

    Melissa

  3. jinean Says:

    wooohooo! Looks like you’re not doing to shabby of a job!! they did waaaay better than I could in 2 days 😛 Tell them great job!

  4. Nikki D Says:

    You are awesome and very brave. Homeschooling is not for the faint at heart. I don’t think I could do it. I don’t think I would be very diligent….:)

  5. Imani Ford Says:

    Wow! How old are they? How do you manage with the babies? I’m impressed!

    • raitking Says:

      Kendi is 7 and Tae is 10. The little kids do make it tough at times, but I think I’ve gotten it down to a routine. Savannah (8 months) wakes up and has breakfast and then goes back to sleep soon after and allows me to get most of the important school work done (math, reading, writing, etc.). Ezekiel (3) is the toughest. I purchased some educational dvd’s for him to watch and he also likes sesame street. And I’m normally able to get in a little school time with him too. I don’t press it though b/c he just turned 3. I’ll consider next year preschool for him.

  6. Jill Says:

    Hey Rai!

    Way to go to the girls & their teacher!!!!! Since I teach (and was homeschooled as a child) as well, I kind of have an idea what you are going through…..I know it’s a challenge but it’s awesome that you are able to do it! Thank God for that & keep up the good work!

  7. Robin Says:

    My husband is also a church planter and he shared one of Shaun’s blog posts on facebook. I read on his blog and found the link to yours. I have enjoyed reading about your family and seeing what you are doing and what God is doing through you. Thanks for sharing.

  8. Tiffaney Says:

    Hey classmate! I love this! You are awesome and you inspire me! Love you!

  9. Wil Mabon Says:

    This kids are so talented and beautiful. I enjoy seeing them grow, I’m so happy that Truth has great kids to emulate throughout her youth. I commend on doing a great job, keep up the good work.


Leave a Reply

