Better Half

Family, Life, and Politics from Wifey

Countdown to Launch…OMG!!..Day 11 December 31, 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — raitking @ 3:51 am

I looked at my blog today and realized I haven’t posted in exactly 2 months!! I can’t even believe it still works.

I remember that when I first started blogging I did so because I found very few voices of church planting wives in the blogosphere. Shaun would always tell me about some new, cool church planter’s blog he found, and I’d be all excited with him and ask if their wife blogged as well. And to my disappointment, they never did.

I understand why though, having tried my hand at it myself. It is VERY time consuming, and time is something we moms have almost none of.

But as we near ever closer (dangerously close I say) to planting this church, I feel the need to blog again. As much for myself than for the benefit of anyone else, because there are so many new experiences-some good, some bad, some provocatively strange-that I wonder what other wives’ are dealing with and how they handle it. Maybe if I share, they will too.

Soooo…for the next 11 days I am going to give a day by day, play by play of how things are going leading up to the launch.

Here’s truth #1 for today….there are soooo many things left undone, and I am panicking!! I can’t believe we have so little time.  If it were up to me, we’d push the date back.  But Shaun says no matter when we set the date, we will always be tempted to push it back.  So mister fast and ready Freddy insists that we keep firing on all cylinders.  I’d rather stick my head in the sand and not come up for air until January 12th.  Then I can just ask him how everything went.

Here’s the next truth for today…the devil is the master of DISTRACTION. With so little time to go, he is throwing everything at us he can.  Not the least of which is my baby girl being sick.  I am a disgustingly paranoid parent.  This is not God-like, I know, and I’m working on it.  What is most likely severe constipation in my 6 year old turns into cancer in my mind.  I’m fretting over her, googling signs of childhood cancer, etc.

I am putting these most deranged thoughts out there to shame the devil and to put myself on blast.  I read a post a few months ago from this guy that showed me I’m not alone in this (sorry, he blogs so much, I couldn’t find the post I’m talking about :-).  It’s no surprise that the devil would attack me in my greatest area of weakness so close to this church launch.  Kendi’s illness has succeeded in serving as a MAJOR distraction for me and Shaun these past few days.  The biggest of which is occuring in my mind.  Right now I give my mind AND my child to Christ.  Cancer or constipation be damned…God’s work will not be stopped.  Take that!

 

3 Responses to “Countdown to Launch…OMG!!..Day 11”

  1. Jennifer Says:

    Not a pastor’s wife or wife at all…but am grateful you have chosen to be heard. And I thank you for the reminder of the Devil’s handywork…needed that reminder today. All will be well!

  2. Tara Says:

    Your blog was forwarded to & wow God’s timing is great. Through your trail you have blessed me. We will be launching this summer & became campus pastors in October 2007. It has been the toughest year of my life. I too am a very protective mother of a 6 yes old & an 18 months old. I just found out yesterday that due to a reoccurring illness I may need to have a hystirectomy @ 32 years of age. My children are miracles & I am greatful for them, however I did want one more. God is good & though I am sad I have much to praise Him for. Please know you are not alone. We PW’s need to stick together. I will be praying for you & your children. In the struggle, Tara

  3. Cyndi Says:

    Tara I pray for peace for you through this time of change.


Leave a Reply

