Better Half

Family, Life, and Politics from Wifey

I prayed for you last night October 21, 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — raitking @ 8:57 pm

I was at work the other day when one of my co-workers that I don’t know really well, but am friendly with stopped me in the hall and told me she had prayed for me the day before.  I was on my way to the library and she had her class lined up in the hall using the restroom.  I was surprised by her announcement because this woman doesn’t come off as particularly religious. I knew she was a believer, but she’s not the type to wear it on her sleeve.

I said “wow” in a stunned kind of way and asked her what had prompted her to do so.  She said she recognized how difficult it can be to work and be pregnant, and that it wasn’t too long ago that she was doing the same thing.  She said she was just thinking about me and decided to pray.

I guess now a few days removed it may not seem like that big a deal.  But at the time it really meant a lot to me.  So much so that I thanked her profusely and gave her a hug (and I almost NEVER hug).  I told her what a tough day I’d had the day before (soreness, crankiness, fatigue, etc.) and how that particular day was going a lot better.  I speculated that perhaps it was her prayer.

I think most of us pray for people and keep it to ourselves.  Of course it’s because we don’t want to come off as boastful or anything.  But sometimes it might help someone to know that you have interceded on their behalf.  I know it put a little extra pep in my step that day!

 

Leave a Reply

