Better Half

Family, Life, and Politics from Wifey

Buncha Stuff Sunday October 6, 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — raitking @ 2:32 am
Tags: , ,

* Starting to see that I don’t really have time for blogging.  Can’t believe it, because I enjoy it so much.  Shaun originally said I had to blog everyday.  But this is impossible I think for a working mom of 3 1/2.  Not giving up yet, just acknowledging that it’s harder than I thought.  I think I’ll be a twice a week blogger.

*Started changing out the closets this weekend (putting away summer for fall).  What a task!  Taking off work tomorrow to finish.  My house looks like the Goodwill.  There are clothes everywhere!

*Kendi had her baptism interview today.  Afterwards, we decided she isn’t quite ready.  She’s only 6.  While she  clearly knows who Jesus is and what he did on the cross, I’m not 100% convinced she understands the significance of it, and the necessity for baptism.  We will wait until she’s ready for sure.  Tae will be baptized next month.

*Buckhead Church started its KidStuf service today.  It was awesome!  It’s a production they’ll do once a month that brings kids and their parents together to explore what they call the Big Idea. I can’t imagine how much work and planning has to go into these types of events.  This month’s Big Idea is Self-Control. The best part is that they give each family a really attractive take home pack to help with applying the big idea throughout the month.  My kids are excited and so are we.  I love this church!

*Looks like October is going to be a busy month for the Courageous Church plant.  Shaun is planning a few events for the last few weeks of the month.  He has a lot on his plate.  I’ll be glad when our launch team has congealed such that it won’t all be on his shoulders.

*Think we are going to stick with the name Savannah Grace for the new baby.  Shaun and I are both really attached to the name.  I wrote a post about the name Savannah not really having a meaning.  But a comment left by a woman named Cyndi really helped me see it in a different light.  Check it out here.

*Been trying to teach Eze about the new baby.  My belly is pretty big now, so I’ve been pointing to it saying that there is a baby girl in there.  He just turned 2 last month, and I can tell this is making no sense to him.  Today he pointed to his own belly and told Shaun there was a baby girl in there.  I thought this was hillarious.  I don’t think he’ll get it until we actually bring her home.

*Starting to wonder what it will be like to have to raise a boy among so many girls. He’s all boy, and has to resort to playing with me or his daddy for entertainment.  The girls play barbies and he’ll pick one up every now and then, but he’d much rather toss a ball and bat.  I’m amazed because we never taught him to prefer these things, but it’s obviously just in him.  Also afraid he will become VERY spoiled with a bunch of mother hens waiting on him hand a foot.  Anyone know a boy raised like this?

 

5 Responses to “Buncha Stuff Sunday”

  1. LaNeitria Says:

    I know a boy that is being raised like that……my brother. He is the only boy (there are three of us), and he is also the youngest. There are huge differences in age between us (I am 31, my sister is 21 and my brother is 14). He is already being spoiled because he is the youngest, then it doesn’t help that my mom is more lenient with him than she was with my sister and I.

    My sister and I have had to learn balance. Meaning that while we like to dote on him, we also have to make sure that he knows that life isn’t easy and that he has to work for what he wants and not wait on a woman to do everything for him. We also have to let him be a boy/young man. He loves to play basketball and video games with his friends. We don’t force him go to “girl stores” as he puts it. You are so fortunate that you have a husband that will teach your son how to be a man.

    Your son will be fine….because he is around girls, he will know how to treat women as he gets older, plus his sisters will be able to filter all of the little “hot mamas” that will start to come/call when he gets to be a teenager.

    God Bless.

  2. Tanya Says:

    Never read blogs online, but found yours through your post on Don Miller’s site. You are an amazing writer. Thank you for such a thoughtful examination of the abortion debate. Will check back periodically because I enjoyed reading it so much.

    T.

  3. raitking Says:

    LaNetria- Thanks for your comment. Your experiences with your brother are helpful. Me and both my girls really tend to cater to Eze’s every need. Don’t want to make things hard for his future wife though 🙂 And you’re right, his dad will (hopefully) provide some balance.

  4. raitking Says:

    Tanya- Thanks for reading my blog. And really thanks for complimenting my writing. I think I’m just ok (have been out of school for a while now). I don’t really update but a couple of times a week-just too hard with a job and 3 kids. But I enjoy sharing my perspective and those of people like you. Take care!

  5. Cyndi Says:

    Been without internet for three weeks. This was such a sweet post to come back to. I can’t wait to hear more about Miss. Savannah. I have the feeling she is going to be something else!


Leave a Reply

