Better Half

Family, Life, and Politics from Wifey

My Little Savy…Retooling My Abortion Stance (Part 1) September 23, 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — raitking @ 10:26 pm
Tags: , ,

So, if you’ve been reading my blog, you know what a firestorm I started by announcing that I was a pro-choice Christian. Here is a recap of my thoughts:

*The question of when life begins has not been definitevely determined scientifically, and is therefore a matter of religious opinion.  The United States is not a “Christian state” and should not be governed based on the religious opinions of any one particular group.  Since everyone in our country is not of the same religion, they should not be made to live as though they are.

*Say what you want, the ugly truth is that abortion keeps some children from being born into very desperate, undesirable circumstances.

*Another major sticking point for me is that the vast majority of the Christian right that is so anti-abortion, is also the same Christian right that does not support the funding of government programs that could help care for the children of poor, single mothers who choose to keep their babies.

*And so on, and so on….

While some agreed with my stance (some of the women, of course) many more put forth that abortion is murder, and as such should be illegal-no questions asked.  They felt it was not a matter of religious opinion, but one of human decency.

I very much disagreed.  That is until Friday.  Last Friday is when I saw my little Savannah Grace for the first time (we’ll probably call her savy for short).  At 19 weeks and 6 days gestation, seeing her through ultrasound was so absolutely amazing that I cried right there on the doctor’s table.  It’s not that I haven’t experienced this before; this is afterall my third child.  But I had spent the whole week debating people online about why it’s reasonable for some people to believe that a baby in the womb may not be a “baby” at all.  So when I laid down and waited for the nurse to put the cold liquid gel and the scanner on my belly, all these thoughts were fresh on my mind.

Finally, I saw the sweet little thing, and it was so very beautiful.  At first she was asleep and had what looked like both feet and hands in the air.  Then as the technician started moving the scanner around to take all her measurements, she began bumping and kicking, and even waved her little hand at us.  It was clear that even if she is only the size of an heirloom tomato (baby websites love comparing fetus’ to vegetables it seems), she was very much alive and-thank God-well! There is no way that I could ever imagine prematurely ending this life.

It was so special, I really hated for the screening to end.  Once I left, I knew immediately that I would have to retool my pro-choice stance.  As a matter of fact, I thought about it the entire day and night.  Literally, it just wouldn’t let me go.  I was sitting at Chuck E Cheese (took Tae and some friends there for her birthday) trying to grade some papers while they played.  But I kept periodically staring off into space daydreaming about my little baby girl, and comtemplating my thoughts on abortion.  I’m sure I looked like a total weirdo to all the other parents and children there (by the way, did you know Chuck E Cheese stays open to 11pm on weekends?  I mean really, WHO has their kids out that late?  My friends and I are now calling it Club Chuck E).

Anyhow, I decided that I really didn’t know enough about the issue and the actual laws governing abortion.  I decided to come home and do some research (via google-the best thing since sliced bread), and was really surprised at what I found.

To hear what I found though, and what I now think, you’ll have to wait another day or so.  Shaun is about to leave for Oklahoma and is taking our recently purchased laptop with him.  Our other computer (on loan from Andy-thanks) is currently sitting on the floor, and at 5 months prego if I get down there, I might not get back up.  Soooo, I’ll have to do part 2 of this post later.

Stay tuned!

 

6 Responses to “My Little Savy…Retooling My Abortion Stance (Part 1)”

  1. adam Says:

    can’t wait to hear what you found!

  2. sslolley Says:

    I’m excited for you — not so much for the discovery of a “changed” opinion — but for how life matters and how God puts the reality in front of us for us to really, really deal with it. I love that about you and Shaun. You seem to be two very real people with very real lives and very real circumstances — serving a really real God. I love it. Bout to make me pack up my stuff and move to Atlanta…

  3. Cyndi Says:

    Don’t you just love how God works?

  4. Nathan Says:

    Those of us on the right tend to believe that it is OUR individual responsibility to offer social services and not the government’s because private enterprise can do a much more effective job for far less money. However, I don’t believe the church has stepped up to the plate like it should, which leaves a vacuum that government fills. If churches truly served the least among these, then no one would want the government providing these services. That is why I’m glad to see more churches getting socially involved.

  5. Andy McMahon Says:

    This is great. (And your more than welcome for the computer!) I do want to add something, if I may…….

    ….
    No objections….
    ok….

    I wanted to say that I do not personally agree with Abortion. I also DO NOT believe it is the government’s roll to say whether or not a woman can do it. I believe that if we love all like Christ loved the church people will be compelled to not just “Follow a Law”, but to make decisions from their heart, and what they feel.

    Also, I feel like taking away that choice un-does what women have fought for, for years! Choice. The right to vote, the right to dress how they want, the right to run for president, or vice president, the right to be a human, with a mind, in this country. I know it’s a hot topic, but I also know that some women (Rape victims, yadda yadda) really appreciate that choice.

    Anyway, I know there are a million arguments, and I know everyone has their own opinions. I don’t want to argue, just offer my two cents. er.. sense. something like that.

    God Bless Rai, and your little one, You call her what you will, I’ll call her Adrienne. 😉

    Talk to you soon!


Leave a Reply

