Better Half

Family, Life, and Politics from Wifey

Why I’m Blogging September 13, 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — raitking @ 3:58 pm
Tags: ,

I hate it when wives do what their husbands do just because their husbands do it.

It’s the womanist in me…my inner rebel.  I met Shaun in church when we were in high school.  He left to attend Morehouse here in Atlanta.  I came two years later to attend Spelman.  But I did NOT follow him.  It’s what drew us together initially.  He wanted to go to Morehouse.  I wanted to go to Spelman.  It was a strange coincidence for two kids from Kentucky.  It was a match made in heaven (or somewhere between heaven and hell, I guess).  We dated long distance while I finished high school, and the rest is history.  It just worked.

But since then, I’ve always rebeled against the idea of “following” him.  I’ve gotten better as I’ve come to understand that it’s his God-given role to lead me.  He can decide where we live, what car we purchase, etc., and I’ll usually oblige like the “submissive” wife (sorry that word still makes me cringe).  Anyhow, I digress from my point.

I’m blogging because I usually have something to say about what Shaun’s blogging about, but he doesn’t want me using his blog to say it.  He’s a better writer than me, and I think he thinks I cramp his style.

But I’m also blogging to have a place to express my thoughts, joys, and frustrations about family, work, life in general, and biggest of all CHURCH PLANTING! One of Shaun’s twitter friend’s said his wife lasted all of two posts.  Well here are my two.  We’ll see how much further I get.

 

5 Responses to “Why I’m Blogging”

  1. Shaun King Says:

    I be doggone if I’m going to let someone else be the first person to comment of your blog!

    I love you woman! Do your thing. You are a great writer babe – I just wanted you to have your own space to say what you say!

    I would say “see you later” but I see you sitting in the bed a few feet away from me.

    -Shaun

  2. I second that! Great writer, very intellectual, and you seem like a super nice person to boot.

    Welcome to the world of blogging… you’ll never be the same.

    -JB

  3. Cyndi Says:

    Welcome to the world of blogging. I have met some great people via this venue. Plus its nice to see other pastors wives blogging. My hubby doesn’t blog, but he reads mine and supports me and my voice (even if he doesn’t always agree on my views…smile).

  4. Andy McMahon Says:

    Just because YOU think Shaun is a better writer than you doesn’t mean you don’t have different experiences that can touch different people. Andrea is a MUCH better writer than me, but I have experiences that I write about, and people tend to like it ok! I’m subscribed.

  5. beyondJEMS Says:

    Keep writing sister! I’ve never read Shaun’s blog, so I dont know anything about him. But I am not a writer. In fact, it was my worst subject in school. But I am driven to share. And I have had people reach out to me to share their story and sometimes their pain, because I have shared mine. You never know who’s life you’re touching on the web bc so many people stay hidden until brave enough to come out with their own voice. I bet you can touch a subject that a lot of ‘preacher’s wives’ or christian wives have struggled with – like – submissive, follow, etc. Uggg! I cringe typing them. But I also know that it comes with the husband must love his wife as Christ loved the church. Keep on, keepin on!


Leave a Reply

