Better Half

Family, Life, and Politics from Wifey

Racial Bias Fuels Obama Muslim Rumors September 13, 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — raitking @ 2:03 pm
Tags: , ,

Like always, my husband is involved in another internet war.  Normally I stay out of these because I just don’t have the patience for it, especially if it’s politics.  But his most recent firestorm has caught my attention because I understand where he’s coming from and I don’t think most of his “twitter friends”- (these strangely invisible people who tell all their business to complete strangers for reasons I don’t understand) as he calls them- do.

This discussion began when a “friend” of his twittered that he had just viewed a YouTube video, set to ancient Arabic music, that set out to prove that Barack Obama was a Muslim. After watching this smut, Shaun’s friend was genuinely stumped as to whether or not Obama was honestly a Muslim or not.

I haven’t read the entire line of discussion, but apparently Shaun reacted strongly against such a notion and others responded to him that he was unfairly criticizing this “friend” and had overreacted. While I of all people know that my husband is prone to theatrics, I do believe that his indignation in this instance is justified.  Here’s why:

For YEARS Barack Obama has been introducing himself to the American people.  Through memoirs written as long as 8 years ago, to political debates as recently as a few months ago, I believe people know more about Barack Obama than they do any other politician in recent history.  His story is so unique that it has been recounted a thousand times over through every outlet imaginable by himself as well as others.

He is a CHRISTIAN.  He has been for over 20 years.  There is proof of this everywhere…including the highly publicized tapes of his former pastor’s “fiery” sermons.  He has said it, his wife has said it, his family has said it, and people who have known him for a very long time have said it and vouched for it.  And guess what?  After all of this it’s still not good enough!!!!  His word and the word of those who know and love him best mean nothing!!!! There is something wrong with that.

Here is what it reminds me of.  Christian Amanpour recently visited the Middle East and spoke with women who told her that it was LAW in their country that in court their testimony was worth only half that of a man’s. Meaning it takes two women to argue their case against one man.  I think that everyone reading this would agree that this is sexist and egregious. Yet people in this country are being treated the same way.

I’m wondering why it is that John McCain can just say that he’s a Christian, say that he believes in Christ and people believe it when there is little to no proof of such beliefs.  WHO is John McCain’s pastor?  What church does he belong to?  Where are his tithing records (Barack’s have already been made public)?  When was John McCain baptized?  What part of his life bear’s Christian fruit (he is known as one of the most foul mouthed, hot tempered men in the Senate, and he’s a divorcee who left his wife for another woman).  WHAT, other than his say so and a well prepped performance at the Rick Warren forum makes him a Christian?

Yet here you have Barack Obama who is probably more like a traditional Christian than any other presidential candidate in recent history-publicly baptized over 20 years ago, a consistent member of 1 church, a tither, a faithful husband to 1 wife, a mild tempered, agreeable man that no one (not even his harshest critics) can make one immoral claim against- has his Christianity questioned at every turn.  Why is his word, better yet his life’s testament, worth half of that as John McCain’s, and Sarah Palin’s for that matter?

How well do you know her?  None of you had ever heard of her until 2 weeks ago.  Yet, suddenly she is the hero is the Christian right? That is amazing to me.  All she has to do is say she believes, say the right things- even though her teenage daughter is pregnant, she is currently under investigation for a potentially corrupt decision, and there are pictures of her children at parties binge drinking circulating the internet-and people automatically believe she is who she SAYS she is.  Why is that?  Why is her word worth so much more than Barack Obama’s? Why, after all this time, would a crappy YouTube video still sway one of Shaun’s Twitter friends?

I’ll tell you why.  It’s because he doesn’t look like you. Hear me, I am not calling you a racist.  That word has a lot of power behind it (lynchings and discrimination) that I would not assign to you and people like you.  But I do think that your willingness to so easily question the  testimony of Obama while wholeheartedly buying into the “Christian” claims of his political rivals -even though their lives don’t bear it out -reveals at the very least a racial bias. Honestly, it’s a racial bias that I believe we all share.  I have a preconditioned tendency to respond to people who look like me and share a similar life background.  I have had stereotypical ideas about Asians, Hispanics, and middle easterners.  While I know rationally that people are not some racial monolith, it doesn’t keep me from making judgments about them in certain situations even if I don’t mean to.

I don’t think that it’s necessarily your fault that many of you have this instinctive distrust of Barack Obama- who I guarantee you know more about than you know about Sarah Palin. I think the sordid racial history of this country and the continual negative portrayal of black people (especially black men) on TV, music, and everywhere else, doesn’t leave room for much else.  You trust what John McCain says because somewhere in the recesses of your mind he is familiar to you.  He looks like your uncle (or better yet your grandfather).  Sarah Palin looks like your aunt, or maybe she reminds you of your wife.  I’m not being accusatory.  I am guilty of the same things.  I know Michele Obama.  I see myself in her.  When I see her children with cornrows in their heads, it reminds me of my girls.  When I hear her story of growing up in a poor, black area of town, I can picture the scene.  I’ve lived it.  So it automatically gives her some level of credibility with me.  I am instantly more comfortable with her than I am with Sarah Palin.  It’s not just because she’s black.  But it certainly helps because I am too, and I know what that means.

Whether you know it or not, Shaun’s Twitter friends hold the same racial biases.  The reason Shaun reacted so strongly is because whatever you think about Barack Obama in this regard, you also think about me, and him, and our friends and family, and on a level that probably doesn’t make sense to most of you, that really hurts.  Most black people grew up with their parents telling them that you have to be twice as good as a white person in order to receive their same level of accolade and recognition.  What hurts is that I didn’t want to believe it, but time and time again, life has shown me that it is true.  This situation is no different.  Barack can say he is a Christian until he is blue in the face.  He can live a life that bares it out on so many levels, and it still won’t matter.  John McCain can say it with no proof, Sarah Palin can come out of nowhere and make a few claims regardless of what the details of her life currently say, and you believe it lock, stock and barrel.  I hope you take an honest look at yourself and ask why.

 

20 Responses to “Racial Bias Fuels Obama Muslim Rumors”

  1. It is pretty silly for anyone to still believe that Obama is Muslim. Even Glenn Beck said, “Their are plenty of good reasons to attack Obama on. Why make stuff up?” I think it is a sad state our politics are in that these things still happen. One thing to keep in mind though is that if you don’t watch the news channels now is when political coverage is just beginning, so it is conceivable for someone to just now be learning about someone. Just like many don’t know about what a foul mouthed philanderer McCain is, many may not know what an upstanding family man Obama is. Ignorance is the enemy of freedom in a republic such as are’s, so it is important that we encourage people to find out all that they can about politicians. Black or white, young or old, smart or stupid, nice or mean, obama or mccain; politics is an ugly business in our nation we absolutely should attach standard and level of scrutiny to all elected officials and candidates.

    Also, I would be careful on the tithing front. Tax returns peg Obama at 6% giving compared to McCain’s 26%. Don’t think this has anything to do with whether they can govern, just making sure that everyone is held to the same standard (practicing what I preach so to speak).

    I am a twitter friend by the way and have no doubt you will be soon too.

  2. Avril Says:

    Interesting post. Well said. Welcome to the blogosphere! I look forward to reading more posts so hopefully you don’t stop at number 2! 🙂

  3. indulf Says:

    great to have you here in the blogosphere or whatever it’s called 🙂

    my only beef with shaun yesterday was how he responded to someone’s question. yes, it wasn’t a great question, and anyone can spend 5 minutes to find the truth, but it was still an innocent question. the guy who asked the question was pre-judged because of his question, just like obama is pre-judged because of his looks and name.

    i don’t question people’s faith. not obama, not john mccain, not biden, not palin, not anyone. that’s not my job – in fact, as a Christian it’s completely counterproductive and plain wrong.

    i’m not saying i don’t think we should examine people’s lives when raising them to positions of power. so, i do have problems with mccain. palin? i don’t know. you raise the issue of her brother in law being fired. he did wake his 10 year old step son up with a taser.. i think he got what he deserved :)… on that same token i have the same problems with obama, though on a different plane. obama seems to be squeaky clean – well, except for his ties with the chicago mob and 60’s terrorists, but who’s counting? by the way, i have problems with preachers who threaten violence to those who have differing viewpoints as well. it goes beyond politics.

    my objections to obama’s leadership of this nation come from a constitutional and Christian standpoint – nothing else. i don’t think the democrats foster personal responsibility. i think they punish those who work hard and have made something for themselves. i think they spend too much money – and before you say it, i think bush spends too much money too! i don’t want federal government dictating my every move. i want it smaller. the democrats want it bigger, and obama is fully on board. i don’t believe in abortion. i don’t believe the government of this country, per it’s charter, owes us anything more than “life, liberty and the pursuit of happiness” and the democrats, obama included, disagree. on a personal level, i don’t think obama has the qualifications and experience to lead a nation. any nation. i’m not a huge mccain fan, but he has more “stuff” than obama does.

    regarding racial bias, i do take mild offense at what you said about me. yes, i am a white, middle class male. no, i didn’t experience racism as a kid, but i do today. my wife is half asian. i get the funny looks. i get people looking at my kids and telling me they are beautiful because they’re not fully white and not fully asian rather than because that’s how God made them. i hear the asian jokes at work and the derogatory comments and terms, and it hurts me. it angers me, actually. how do i respond? how is a Christian to respond? i never heard Dr. King say he should slap someone’s face. i bet obama wouldn’t say it either.

    all i can say is this… i’m darn glad i’m not running for president!

    ps – my wife and i love you and your husband tremendously and are praying for the success of God’s plan @ Courageous. regardless of who our president is, the head of all our lives is Jesus, and that’s what *really* matters!

  4. Rindy Walton Says:

    What a great post! Lots to think about. I even called my 13 and 16 yr old sons in to read and talk about it. Great points on this.

    I hate politics for the simple reason that we never really know people, everything is so biased no matter who you listen to, and I’m not sure I can ever make an educated decision!!

    Keep blogging!! I love that you’re standing up and speaking your thoughts!! Awesome!!

  5. Cyndi Says:

    I have been following your husbands blog for a while. I must say I am going to enjoy reading from your side. I twitter also, but tend to keep my opinions to myself. I told Shaun once that he says things I would never have the guts to say. I don’t get the hold “hate Obama thing”. And frankly think people who still like to insist that he is Muslim have some serious issues (and that’s being polite).

  6. Toby Says:

    Man, I have been talking myself out of commenting on this for hours now. First of all, welcome to bloghood…Is that a word? Secondly, my comments are just as much for your husband as they are for this blog. Instead of copying and pasting to his site, I’ll assume he’s reading this also.
    I don’t have a problem with Obama. I don’t have a problem with his name or his color or his faith. I am a democrat in the truest sense of the word. Always have been. I have read your words and forwarded them on to many friends and family members because I think you have said some things that people just don’t think of. It’s true that Barack’s name and looks causes him to be scrutinized where McCan’t and Plain are not.
    That’s about as far into the politics of it all as I’m going to get. While I agree with you and Shaun on many things, I agree with Indulf also. My problem lies with where these words are coming from. Personally, I have watched the back and forth of all of these words and it disgusts me. A pastor…did ya get that?? A PASTOR, is arguing politics and threatening violence via the internet. I don’t care if they’re figures of speech or serious threats, they have no business coming from the leader of a church. The intent of those words became meaningless when he hit enter. It went from intent to perception in a matter of milliseconds and if these words are perceived as being violent, that’s what they were. These words coming from me or Indulf or any other “average-Joe-citizen” may not mean a dang thing, but not for the leader of a church. A church, no less, that hasn’t even opened its doors yet. That’s not only sad, it’s very dangerous.
    I have watched these words fly back and forth and then see Shaun back away from them, “retiring” from the political arena. I had a sudden sense of “wow, he gets it”, which set my heart at ease. Then, no more than a few days later is he back at it again.
    What are a few things a person might look for in a pastor? You can say things like “honesty”, “integrity”, “A God-filled heart”, but those things are nothing without consistency. To be consistently preaching and living the Word of God. No, no one is perfect, but we hold our church leaders to a higher standard and if you’re not perfect, you better be doing your darnedest to get there.
    Is Shaun expected to lay down and conform to the general “church” political views? No, but I would appreciate NEVER knowing what my pastor’s political views are. I don’t care and he shouldn’t care about mine. I come to church; I talk to pastors…Not for political reasons, but to learn about God, to learn how God has impacted the lives of others. The church is no place for this kind of crap and while his blog, or twitter, or this blog for that matter, isn’t a church, every word on any of them is representing the church you’re leading. I would hope as the radio spots and publicity surrounds the opening of the Courageous church, that is clearly understood.
    I’m only mildly affected as I am in another country and would have only watched via the internet, but the rest of the audience these words are going out to, may be directly in the back yard. If this has me bothered, I can only imagine how those close to it all feel.
    Thanks for the post. I truly hope and pray you understand where I’m coming from.

  7. Andy McMahon Says:

    wow. Um. Here’s what I AM going to say. I WOULD VOTE FOR BARACK OBAMA IF HE WAS MUSLIM! Faith is not and should not be a deciding factor for who you vote for. I think that getting bent out of shape that someone called him a Muslim, is just as insulting as someone calling him a Muslim. I mean… LOVE.

    Love.

    Love.

    I love you guys. All of you. Seriously.

  8. Chris Hyde Says:

    Rai…thank you for what you have written here. I follow Shaun on Twitter and appreciate what he has to say on there. I have now added his blog AND yours to my Google Reader. I look forward to reading more.

    Thank you, thank you, thank you for sharing your perspective on this. As a white, middle-class male and pastor who lives in a very homogeneous part of the country, I was very moved by this post. While I don’t consider myself racist in the least, I can see how we ALL respond with racial biases. You are totally right. And I appreciate you sharing how it looks from your point of view. That kind of education is what we all need!

    I’ve read the other comments here and there are some I disagree with. I’m sorry that some have been so legalistic. I really think the comment before mine was a bit out of line!

    Thanks again! I look forward to more!

  9. raitking Says:

    Toby: Thanks for your post. First of all let me say that Shaun has told me all about you. He has been very moved by your desire to help out with our efforts concerning Plumpy Nut.

    I am sorry that his comments have so deeply offended you. I actually agree with you in that I’d rather not know my pastor’s political leanings. I don’t like the Jerry Falwell types who are known more for their politics than their ministries (at least to people like me). Obviously God is not a republican nor a democrat, and I like it that way.

    Shaun would never discuss these things in a church setting. I think he feels, though, that there has to be some place where he can be himself and dialogue about his views with other people. It’s a slippery slope, I know, because most of what he’s done with the church so far has been internet related, so it’s almost like it is the church right now.

    I do not like it when he is over the top though, and whatever his comment was about slapping someone was indeed over the top. He did not mean it of course, and said (typed) it with a colloquial tone behind it like “man I should knock you out” or something like that. I will urge him to be more careful though, because though someone will always take offense to something he says, he doesn’t have to give them sooo much to choose from 🙂

    Thanks again for your post!

  10. Susan Lolley Says:

    Enjoyed your post — I’m thrilled to see you blogging. I’m a fan of Shaun’s writing — and I have written agreements and disagreements with one or more subjects, but I appreciate his vulnerability and honesty more than anything. It’s hard to find in ministry these days and I do appreciate both of you. I have taken a look at myself in many of these areas — thanks for reminders, though, to do it again. Never hurts.

  11. Kristy Says:

    I’ve struggled with how to answer your post. I’m glad you put your thoughts here and opened up to discussion.

    Some thoughts-
    Yes Obama has spent considerable time introducing himself to the public, but most people don’t follow politics and many voters will wait until the last few weeks to even pay attention. So yes, he will have to continue introducing himself over and over again.

    Do I believe Obama has proven he is a Christian? Yes. But he will have to continue answering questions about his faith because: his father was a muslim, he has not been a Christian his whole life, he spent some time in his youth at a Muslim school (as I understand it). Is it fair that he has to keep defending himself? No, but he’s running for president and it is the role of the public to question him in every area. And why shouldn’t the public be extremely wary and cautious in these days?

    All the public really cares about is if the candidate says they are Christian, devotion, actual faith or practice doesn’t really matter. They do care that Obama is NOT a Muslim.

    Sarah Palin’s family is undergoing unprecedented scrutiny and mudslinging because she is a woman who decided to have a career in addition to being a mother. Should her family have to go through this? No, but she’s running for office and she will continue to have her life examined.

    As for your argument of “racial bias,” there’s no arguing how all of this makes you feel personally. But Obama is a public figure in an unprecedented position. Racism still exists in the country and that is one part of the battle he must fight in his campaign. Of course it’s not fair, people will make assumptions about him, people will not vote for him because of the color of his skin. It is a fight that needs to be fought.

    This continues to be an important moment in our country because it moves us one step further from our racist history. I will not vote for Obama because of his political views, but I’m proud of our country that he might be the next president.

  12. Why and how is it that in order to be “Christian/Christ-follower/Born Again” you have be weak and just take crap? Why is it that you’re not “Christian” if you have emotions and you are aggressive about what you believe? Why is it wrong for a Pastor discuss HIS thoughts? Why do God’s voices have to be silent about the times when the devils voices are loud and clear and EVERYWHERE? Why do people make it seem that being Born Again requires that you “skip through the fields, picking daisies, playing with bunnies, letting people walk over you, being nice, and etc.” Why is it that people try to box us pastors into boxes (don’t say this, say that, and etc.) How come we can’t speak our opinions? There is no scripture for that? How come our opinions disqualify us for leadership and walking in the anointing of God? These are false pretenses and paradigms that have CASTRATED men and women of God. The “church” mindset says that, “Pastors can only talk about religious things, “christian things.” The Kingdom mindset says, “If anyone is to say things about stuff, it should be the men and women of God.” There is no scripture for these attacks.

    Do we forget that Jesus went into the temple and wrecked house? He didn’t say a prayer. He wasn’t gentle, or what we would have considered “Christ-like”. What are defining “Christ-like” with? Do we forget that the 3 Hebrew Boys (Shadrach, Meshach, and Abednego- see Daniel 3) made a political STATEMENT to KING Nebuchadnezzar by stating their opinions against what was said. As a matter of fact, they were God’s agents, devoted to God, prayer-warriors- AND THEY WERE POLITICAL FIGURES. How many times were New Testament figures in front of political figures speaking their minds? What many people fail to realize is that the KINGDOM OF GOD is as much governmental as it sis “religious”. Lastly, consider GOD- I AM, Jehovah. How many times has God completely wiped out people and nations, killed people, wrecked house, and kicked butt (the opposite of what we say is “Christ-like” behavior for pastors)? Is God not “Christ-like?”

    Who is making these rules about what PASTORS (men and women of God) can and cannot say? These UNBIBLICAL paradigms are truly CASTRATING us pastors. (yes, I am a pastor. an authentically Kingdom- paradigmed pastor.)

    The “churchy”, religious age is over, welcome to the age of the Kingdom.

    (PS, let’s stop acting like political views have to be silenced b/c they’ll split the church. Church views split the church, let’s not make people be silent b/c of politics. We need to face the fact the we will never agree 100% on everything. That’s not even biblical.)

    Love,

    Pastor Bryson G. Baylor

  13. Toby Says:

    “Christians are not only to remember past church leaders (v. 7), but are to heed present leaders who are responsible in discharging their duties in providing spiritual oversight to the congregation. The obedience commanded denotes assenting to someone else’s directions, and submission means yielding one’s contrary opinions in favor of another’s. The writer does not suggest blind, unquestioning obedience to everything a leader says, even in decisions pertaining to changing jobs, making purchases, taking a trip, and the like. The NT teaches the necessity of discernment (I John 4:1), personal accountability to God (Rom. 14:12; Gal. 6:5), and mutual submission (Rom. 12:10; Gal. 5:13; Eph. 5:21; Phil. 2:3, 4). Furthermore, church leaders are not autocratic chiefs who lord it over the congregation, but are servants who exercise authority with concern and care (see Rom. 12:8; I Thess. 5:12, 13; I Tim. 3:5; 5:17).”
    Pastor Jack Hayford
    Might I also add…”I do not let any unwholesome talk come out of my mouth, but only what is helpful for building others up according to their needs, that it may benefit those who listen.”
    Ephesians 4:29

  14. adam Says:

    wow, some great comments and discussion.

    pastor baylor, there isn’t anything wrong with someone expressing their beliefs – even if it upsets people.

    what is wrong, however, is expressing yourself in a manner contrary to the numerous guidelines in scripture. toby nailed it with the passages he quoted, and there are many more.

    just like i wouldn’t go to a church where the preacher said “god damn america” from the pulpit, i wouldn’t go to a church where the pastor threatened violence from the pulpit or incited riotous thoughts with his speech.

    let’s get back to reality – shaun didn’t say anything riotous, and i’m all about the benefit of the doubt. just like i believe obama is a christian, and his slip-up was just that and nothing more, i think shaun is an extremely passionate man of God who will do some great things in Atlanta. i’ll be at Courageous when i can, and my family will continue to support him.

    any communicator, but especially preachers, must be careful how they present themselves. i’m not saying they can’t talk tough or speak the truth, but you have to look at scripture and it’s commands for how we, as Christians, are to deal with, speak to, and encourage one another.

    God Bless and please continue to work for truth. forget obama and mccain and palin and biden and everything else but God’s truth and plan for the salvation of this world.

  15. Andy McMahon Says:

    Chris Hyde – I would like to know where my comment was out of line? Do you not think there are millions of Muslims in this world who feel a little insulted, or sorry that there are extremists running around performing terroristic attacks?

    Or was I out of line saying that I would vote for Obama IF he was a muslim? A person’s heart, in my opinion is a person’s heart. He has a good one. a genuine one, and a great platform to top it all off.

    I still stand by my comment. When I said, “I think that getting bent out of shape that someone called him a Muslim, is just as insulting as someone calling him a Muslim.” It’s maybe not an insult to him, but an insult to millions of Muslims around this world who want nothing but peace.

    I also still stand by my comment: I love you all. I do. And I try to live in love everyday of my life, EVEN IF, the other person I am trying to love happens to be a Muslim, Jewish, or Buddhist.

    Toby: You Nailed it man. Thanks!

    Ria: Thank you for you post. I understand the context, and I feel very strongly about Obama as well. I fully understand what his nomination stands for, and that, THAT makes me proud to be an American. Politics in general though, do not.

  16. raitking Says:

    Toby- Know I’m a bit late with the reply. I understood the frustration behind your first post, but I must say I’m a little thrown off by your second rant of scriptures. Are you quoting some sermon from Jack Hayford? If so, that means nothing to me. I don’t know anything about him, and I don’t take what any random pastor has to say as truth, because I know most put their own spin on the bible in their preaching. I couldn’t really tell if you were quoting him or the bible.
    The bottom line is that there is PLENTY in this world to be outraged about. My husband jokingly saying he was going to slap someone, is not one of them. It may have been a little uncouth, but it’s not worth quoting scripture over. I personally know too many pastors who have done much worse than to have an off color sense of humor. Shaun’s a good man whose only crime is being a little over zealous about a political issue he cares deeply about. I think you both should lighen up a bit.

  17. raitking Says:

    Adam- I can’t believe you brought up the whole Obama is friends with a terrorist thing, and the Chicago mob? Come on, you can’t be serious. The “terrorist” guy was a co-worker at the college where they both taught (I think). Besides, being friends with someone with a sordid past may actually be more Christ-like than shunning them. Looking at Jesus’ history, and who he hung out with, people could also accuse Jesus of being guilty by association.
    Also, I don’t think I said in my post that white people haven’t experienced racism (although I think 99.9% have not-heck, I can only pinpoint one situation where I have experienced it myself). Especially in your situation-being married to a part asian woman (I had already been to her blog by the way and could tell that she was ethnic by looking at your beautiful children-ethnic recognizes ethnic :-). I tried in my post not to play the whole “white people are racist” card by sharing my own racial bias.
    One more thing, thanks for explaining why you are a republican. I honestly for the life of me (before your comment) never understood how anyone could be 🙂

  18. beyondJEMS Says:

    I’m a republican because I hate taxes & big government. I think communities, churches and neighbors should be doing a lot of what govt does. They’d do it better anyway.

    I dont believe any of the internet crap. It is just that crap. I think what struck a nerve for most people is connecting his father being a muslim with 9/11 and terrorist. It got my attention til I looked at the facts. It had nothing to do with him being black. If McCain’s father was muslim, because white people can be muslim too, I would have pursued the same path. What are the facts? It shouldn’t have anything to do with it, but I just think people are still raw with what happened 9/11 and it’s taking a while to get past it. But that’s just my two cents.

    My pastor, Pete Wilson from Crosspoint is also a blogging pastor who has been chastized by people for various blogging, twittering incidents. Gotta have a thick skin to be out there. Best of luck!!

  19. Toby Says:

    I really try not to get “personal”ly involved in things such as blogs. When it comes down to it, they’re just words, right? Just to explain, there are quotation marks around what is quoted in my previous post; followed by who I’m quoting.
    Having said that, I’m a little rattled by your reply. “If so, that means nothing to me???” Really? Just because they’re not someone you know means they didn’t spend years studying the Bible and deserve some respect? The next one really got me: “but it’s not worth quoting scripture over”. I’m not sure I ever could have expected to see those words come from a pastor’s wife. There is NOTHING in this life; yours or mine; that is NOT worth quoting Scripture over. When someone flies off with inappropriate words, regardless of the context, there is Scripture needed and available to be quoted. Not to mention, Ephesians 4:29 speaks directly to how this entire conversation started.
    I’m rather disgusted as to where this conversation has gone and/or is going and it’s time to withdraw myself from it. I believe my point is made…as is yours.


Leave a Reply

